I Corinthians 13 (Revised)

Love is accepting; Love makes me feel safe.

Love does not judge or have too much more than its neighbor.

Love is not disagreeable; it does not create unhappy feelings.

Love does not insist on the Biblical way; it doesn’t stand in the way of my happiness.

It does not rejoice in absolute truth, but celebrates my truth.

Love always protects my choices, believes in who I am, hopes all my dreams will come true, and endures constant revision to social constructs because…

#Lovewins

38928198_s

I’m pretty sure the preceding version of 1 Corinthians 13 must be in the Bibles at many of today’s “Christian” churches. But the confused neon colors of this “translation” pale in comparison to the deep-hued truths of the REAL version, the Biblical text:

I Corinthians 13:4-7 (ESV with other Biblical phrases in brackets):

Love is patient [longsuffering, overlooking a multitude of personal offenses];

Love is kind [considerate of others above self].

Love does not envy or boast [recognizes that anything good is from above and not of ourselves];

It is not arrogant or rude [it acts in accordance with the riches of God’s kindness].

Love does not insist on its own way [submits one to another];

It is not irritable or resentful [forgiving as God forgave us].

Love does not rejoice at wrongdoing [does not call evil “good”],

But rejoices in the truth [the Word of the Lord stands forever].

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things [because in Him all things hold together].

Love never fails.

In writing the second passage, I noted how hard it is to love according to the real definition. I fail daily to love my family and friends: I am selfish, impatient, and not able to bear little things let alone all things! But I am in the right place when I am using Scripture to assess the condition of my heart.

The problem is that the more the world tells Christians they are bigoted and hateful, the more tempting it becomes to adjust our behavior to the gauge of the revised version of Scripture at the top of this post: “I know I’m not unloving! I should act more accepting so that my co-worker knows too!” And so we start confessing what’s not sin, and leaving real sins unconfessed.

If we speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, we will be as noisy gongs or clanging cymbals to everyone around us, including those we are trying to convince that we are loving (1 Cor. 13:1). “Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good” (Romans 12:9). To genuinely love others, we need to check which version of 1 Corinthians 13 we’re using.

#LoveNeverFails

