So, I think I’m almost ready to settle down in the postmillennial camp of eschatology. I grew up believing a popular, Left Behind, dispensational sort-of view of the end times, but now I’m headed to the uncrowded side of the room with only Jonathan Edwards to keep me company. 😉

Of course, if the Bible teaches postmillennialism, then what’s happening in the world should be interpreted in light of that. But, I will entertain a common objection to this “historic optimism”: the world is getting worse. A friend of mine who’s a seminary graduate told me that pretty much everyone (not sure if he was referring to just reformed believers) believed in postmillennialism before the world wars. Then people looked around and realized it couldn’t possibly be true that the world was actually getting better. Postmillennialists don’t believe that things necessarily get better year to year, but that taking a long view of history will show that God’s kingdom is expanding on earth.  (And, as mentioned, even if history didn’t show that yet, it would not preclude me from believing what I believe to be sound biblical interpretation.)

ANYWAY, this delightful little video shows that it’s not completely idiotic to believe that things are getting better. Hopefully it will be a bright spot in your day and make you grateful to live in the 21st century! 🙂

Hans Rosling’s 200 Countries, 200 Years, 4 Minutes – The Joy of Stats – BBC Four – YouTube.

